The UnGala

About the UnGala

The Cool Culture UnGala is our largest yearly fundraiser, celebrating and honoring individuals and organizations that have demonstrated a commitment to social justice, inclusion, and arts access.

The Cool Culture UnGala supports our capacity building and our programs. Our programs provide New York City school staff, and families with small children, with enriching art experiences that educate, create awareness, strengthen communities, and propel social change.

Join us as we honor those who are paving the way for tomorrow’s artists, art-lovers, and activists.

The UnGala
Thursday, May 31, 2018
7 PM to 10 PM
Ogilvy & Mather
636 11th Avenue

Up to 250 members of the Cool Culture community attend this signature event. The event hosts an eclectic mix of artists, philanthropists, arts and social justice advocates, cultural influencers, and tastemakers providing a unique way to reach a targeted audience while showing support for art and cultural equity.

This event recognizes and celebrates changemakers in the art community and beyond. This year, we are honoring Tania Bruguera, an artist and activist, Dorinda Walker, a Fortune 50 executive and an advocate for communities of color, Jerome Lagarrigue a rising and talented artist and Eugenie Tsai, the John and Barbara Vogelstein Senior Curator of Contemporary Art at the Brooklyn Museum. Last year’s honorees included artist and MacArthur Genius Award recipient Teresita Fernandez and philanthropist Reggie Van Lee. In 2016, we honored artists Sanford Biggers and Ayka Khan and featured special guest speaker Arnold Lehman, director emeritus of the Brooklyn Museum.

Candice Anderson

Will DuBose
Risa Meyer
Nadia Samadani
Lauriann Serra

Lenise Logan
Alaina Simone

Nichole Thompson Adams
Tay Dolan
Cathy Elkies
Ashley Collier
Lois Gelernt
Samantha Gilbert
Michèle Gerber Klein
Chelsea Mandel
Leslie Martinez
Harold O’Neal
Lori Rotskoff
Asma Samadani
Daphnee Sanon
Neal Schelberg
Steve Serra

Will DuBose
Lois Gelernt
Samantha Gilbert
Kevin Lee
Karen C. Liu
Carol M. Matorin
Edwina Meyers
Risa Meyers
Lawrence Provette
Neal Schelberg
Bevy Smith
Jonathan VanAntwerpen
Ahmed Yearwood